Advanced search

Home > The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg >

The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg

At a Glance

Official designation   Grand-Duché de Luxembourg / Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
National holiday   June 23rd
Surface   2 586 square km
Neighboring States   Germany, Belgium and France
Main cities   Luxembourg-City (capital), Esch-sur-Alzette
Administrative divisions   3 districts (Luxembourg, Diekirch, Grevenmacher), 12 cantons, 116 municipalities
Climate   moderate.
Overall population   549 680,
Political regime   Constitutional Monarchy and Parliamentary Democracy
National language   Luxembourgish (Lëtzebuergesch)
Administrative languages   French, German, Luxembourgish
Head of State   H.R.H. The Grand Duke Henri (since October 7 2000)
Prime minister   H.E.Mr. Xavier Bettel (since December 4, 2013)
Political parties in power   Democratic Party (DP), Socialist Worker's Party (LSAP), Green Party (Déi Gréng)
Parties represented at the parliament   Christian-Social Party (CSV)
Socialist Worker's Party (LSAP)
Democratic Party (DP)
Green Party (Déi Gréng)
Alternative Reform and Democratic Party (ADR)
Left Wing Party (déi Lénk)
    Pirate Party (Piratepartei)
Currency   Euro €
Unemployment rate 02/2014   7,2%
GDP growth (2013)   2,1%
Inflation (2014)   1,0%


National anthem   Ons Heemecht

Official links to comprehensive information on Luxembourg:


Everything you need to know about the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg